On anti-speeding

I came across this old blog post (from 2012) from Bicycle Dutch the other day. It is about a speeding campaign in Holland, showing the driver who has injured someone addressing their victim – not in a sympathetic way, but making excuses for why they were speeding.

I did wonder what these adverts would look like if they were remade for British TV. I wonder if they might be a bit harder hitting – the victims in the Dutch adverts are all conscious (though with broken limbs) – I wonder if in Britain the victims might be shown unconscious, more seriously injured. With the feeble excuses over the top I think it would be quite powerful.

I had another thought about speeding the other day. I think some people who drive at over the marked speed limit believe that the speed limit should be higher. I wonder what would happen if people who believe that the marked speed limit should be lower drove at the lower speed limit? 20 instead of 30 in built up areas is the obvious example. I wonder if it would just cause impatient people to get cross and pull stupid overtakes? 

I thought one could call it “anti-speeding”… I don’t drive very often, so I don’t know if or when I’ll ever try this myself. Do you think it would have any effect?

Leave a comment